Thursday, January 24, 2019

Denver, Colo.—The Colorado Limousine Association (CLA) held its February meeting to deal with issues pertinent to the Centennial State.

CLA Treasurer Mary Norby kicked off the meeting with information about the new pass required at the Denver International Airport (DIA). As of January 21, DIA is now requiring a three-part pass: One for ground transportation (GT), cab starters, and drivers. Drivers are now required to check in with the GT agents to get passes. They also need to make sure one copy of their pass gets turned into the cab starter. The cab starter then records the pass number; holding lot pass records will be reconciled daily and any discrepancies will be addressed with involved operators. Limousine drivers must have a driver’s pass or specific permission from the Ground Transportation staff in order to load on level five of the airport.

Cliff Hinson from the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) shared new rules, regulations, and definitions that became effective February 14. Here are some of the highlights:

6005—Motor carriers shall maintain all records required by these rules for three years. For the first year, the records must be maintained in their original format. The format may be changed after one year (e.g., converting original paper to electronic format for storage)

6006—A motor carrier is required to notify the Commission in writing of any change of name, mailing address, physical address, or telephone number on file with the Commission within two days of making said change. The notification shall identify the person making the change and all of the affected motor carrier’s certificates, permits, or registrations. A notice of name change including trade name changes and trade name additions, shall include supporting documentation from the Colorado Secretary of State.

6007—Insurance is now a $1.5 million for vehicles of 15 or less including the driver and $5 million for vehicles that are 16+. Be sure to get with your insurance company to bring up your levels to the current rule.

6017—Civil Penalties: If you get an email from Consumer affairs you have 14 days to respond. If you don’t respond then any fines will start. If you don’t pay the PUC can take your permit. Once revoked you cannot get another for five years.

6301 B—“Charter order” means a paper or electronic document that memorializes the contract for luxury limousine or off-road scenic charter service for a specific period of time reasonably calculated to fulfill the purpose of the contract. A charter order shall state the charge, the charge method, or a reasonable estimate of the charge. A charter order also shall contain the name and telephone number of the person contracting on behalf of the passengers; the name and telephone number of at least one passenger; the name, telephone number, and PUC number of the carrier and, if different from the carrier, of the driver; pickup time; and pickup address. A copy of the charter order shall be maintained for at least one year following the provision of service.

6304—The carrier’s permit number preceded by “LL” or “PUC LL” or “CO PUC LL” shall be of a size and color readily visible from 50 feet, but in any case not less than one and a half inches tall and not more than three inches tall. The markings may be displayed on either the front and/or rear of the motor vehicle or on both sides.

And finally, both CLA Chairman of the Board Franci Ouzounis of White Dove Limousine and President Youssef Marrakchi of Centennial Transportation were in Denver this month to testify at the hearing regarding Colorado State Bill 125, which would regulate Uber and UberX by leveling the playing field in terms of safety, insurance, and pricing. The issue is ongoing.

Visit cololimo.org for more information.

3/14