Lancer Leader Ally
Wednesday, June 29, 2022

The United Motorcoach Association (UMA) will hold elections for seven operator seats on the board of directors that will open up in 2022. Members can vote online from December 2-17.


Campaigning began in early October, after the slate of candidates was announced during UMA’s online Town Hall.

“There has never been a more important UMA board election than the one we face right now, said Gladys Gillis, of the Starline Collection, Immediate UMA Past Chair and Chair of the UMA Nominations/Bylaws Committee.

“The new board of directors will immediately face the tasks of helping our members grow out of near ruin, properly supporting a brand new president and CEO from outside our industry, and defining the future teaming role with other national, state and regional organizations. Remember, only paid members can vote for our board members,” she said, adding, “Please pay your dues. Please get to know these candidates and how they feel about these issues. Please vote.”

UMA President Scott Micheal UMA President & CEO Scott Michael

Earlier this month, UMA also announced that Scott Michael was named as its new president and CEO.

Board winners will be announced in early January and new board members will be introduced to UMA members at the Motorcoach EXPO in Long Beach, California, from Feb. 23-27, 2022.

Candidates by UMA Region
In Region 1, three candidates are seeking two open seats. Candidates are:

  • Lisa Allen of Amador Stage Lines, Reno, Nevada
  • Tom Giddens of Pacific Coachways, Garden Grove, California 
  • John Grzywacz of CIT Signature Transportation, Ames, Iowa

UMA’s Region 1 covers the western part of the country, including Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Nevada, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Region 2 has eight candidates running for two open seats:

  • Paige Balsinger of All Around Charter & Tours, Nokomis, Florida
  • James M. Brown Sr. of Magic Carpet Tour Bus Service, Richmond, Virginia
  • Clarence Cox III of Georgia Coach Lines, Fayetteville, Georgia
  • Jacqueline Grice of Agape Travel & Tours, Chesapeake, Virginia
  • Yvette Harris of Horizon Motor Coach, Harlem, Georgia
  • Lee Helms of Sunway Charters, Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Jack Kaufman of Timi’s Tours Transportation, Moweaqua, Illinois
  • Jason Quick of Quick’s Bus Service, Staunton, Virginia

States within Region 2 are Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. The region also includes the District of Columbia.

In Region 3, the race is uncontested with two candidates running for two open seats:

  • Glenn R. Every of Tonche Transit, Mount Temper, New York
  • Tim Stout of Stout’s Transportation, Ewing, New Jersey

Region 3 includes Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia. 

Region 4 is an uncontested race with John Wilson of The Wilson’s Group of Companies, Victoria, British Columbia, seeking the one open seat to represent Canadian operators.

Voting begins on December 2 and ends on the 17th.

For more information, visit